You are here: > reports & results > belgium results > nationals 00

Belgian National and Open Championship 2000

KLYC, Galgenweel, Antwerp

September 2nd-3rd

Report by Nick Craig

The OK Belgian Nationals were sailed on 2-3 September on a lake near Antwerp with 28 boats from 5 countries attending. There isn't much better value for money than this event with the �7 entry fee giving free beer, a 3 course meal and 6 well run races!

The opening day started off light & shifty and then the weather threw everything from sunshine to lightning at the fleet! Race 1 was led for 3 laps by Neil Goodhead (GBR), showing his fine lake sailing talents. In a very close race, Nick Craig (GBR) came through on the final lap to win from World no. 3 Bart Bomans (BEL) and 3 times German Champion Rudi Prinz, with Goodhead holding on to 4th.

The wind picked up to marginal planing weather in race 2 and lightweight Prinz motored off downwind to a large win. Craig just held 2nd from Alex Schoenmakers (BEL) but both were OCS. Schoenmakers protested for redress and after a long hearing the claim was rejected. Bomans knew he was over and returned at the start and then staged an impressive comeback to 4th, which moved up to 2nd with OCSs, followed by Frank Vanroy (BEL).

Local sailor Bomans showed good speed to win race 3 and move into an overnight lead with 2,2,1. Prinz held onto 2nd to be close behind Bomans with 3,1,2 and Craig was waiting for a discard with a score of 1,OCS,3.

Day 2 emerged with lighter winds - Bomans had beaten Olympic Silver Medallist Sebastien Godefried in just these condition at the Finn Nationals here so was in confident form. Race 4 was very close with Craig just pipping Bomans in the last 100 yards. Tommy Neveling (GER) sailed his best race by far to finish 3rd and Prinz was 4th.

The wind picked up for race 3 to force 2 and there was again a very tight race between Bomans and Craig with the 2 never more than a couple of boatlengths apart. Bomans got through on the penultimate beat to win from Craig. World no. 7 Andrew Rushworth (GBR) was not enjoying the shifty weather but found some form to score a 3rd with Prinz dropping out the running with a 5th. Craig needed to win the final race to beat Bomans. As expected there was an even tighter duel between these 2! Bomans sailed Craig out the left side of the course up the 1st beat to round the windward mark 3rd with Craig 7th. A pile up of the leading 8 boats and a 40 degree windshift caused chaos at the leeward mark but Bomans emerged in front with Craig not far behind. Craig closed in so that by the final run, it was like the America's Cup was being rerun with both boats inches apart as Craig attempted to get inside Bomans. Bomans defended vigorously and after another 20 tacks exchanged up the last beat, Bomans won the Belgian Nationals by a couple of boatlengths. Goodhead sailed another excellent race to finish 3rd and claim 5th overall.

PosNameSail NoClubR1R2R3R4R5R6Tot
1Bart BomansBEL 44KLYC2212116,0
2Nick CraigGBR 2094Frensham1OCS312211,7
3Rudiger PrinzGER 711SCST31245526,7
4Gwynn HagenaersBEL 207SRNA54464442,0
5Neil GoodheadGBR 2069South Staffs4651313354,4
6Frank Van RoyBEL 128KLYC739761058,4
7Andy RushworthGBR 2097-8126113761,4
8Joris ClaesBE L56KLYC1157891269,0
9Alex SchoenmakersBEL 03KLYC6OCS10514669,4
10Franz HawerBEL 208KLYC9OCS8167878,0
11Paul BoutsBEL 203VVW Sirocco1091114101181,0
12Thomas NevelingGER 664Prinzenst1211183171584,7
13Rod AndrewBEL 1SNEH1371215DNF986,0
14Steven JamarBEL 1675VVW Sirocco1510169151493,0
15Raymond DodardFRA 2000St Ouen161614181213101,0
16Christophe ColleBEL 165KLYC191413221116103,0
17André DeboeureBEL 441Sodipa141520171617109,0
18Ton VogelzangNED 659Amstelmeer208172419DNF118,0
19Marc Vande GhisteBEL 1656PYC222021121818119,0
20Dilly DaleGBR 1984South Staffs181322212024124,0
21Valentin BaetenBEL 176VVW Sirocco17181528DNF19127,0
22Vic AbbeloosBEL 205KLYCDNCDNCDNC108DNC135,0
23Johanna KruezingerBEL 29SNEH2117DNC252520138,0
24Katrien AertsBEL 167VVW Sirocco232319232122138,0
25Jurgen DierisGER 696Crefeld252223192421139,0
26Paul VerrijdtBEL 141VVW Sirocco261924262323145,0
27Jos ClaessensBEL 20KLYC2421DNC2022DNC146,0
28Pieter De BondtBEL 110KLYCDNC24DNC2726DNC165,0