You are here: > reports & results > denmark results > nordics 2015

Nordic Championship 2015

Præstø 13-14 June

Photos by

Bo Petersen wins OK Dinghy Nordic Championship in Præstø

Bo Petersen (DEN), the 2013 European Champion, has added the Nordic Championship to his growing list of achievements in the OK Dinghy class. He led a strong Danish team on home waters in a fleet of 66 OK Dinghies, over the weekend of 13-14 June. The silver went to Rene Sarabia Johannsen (DEN) and the bronze to Jens Lauge (DEN).

Præstø Fjord is situated in the southern part of Zealand, well protected behind the Feddet peninsula in the bay of Fakse. Lauge commented on the venue, I used to visit Prastoe every year, camping together with the junior Optimist sailors from Sletten Yachtclub. I always remembered the fjord as being gusty and shifty, especially in western wind conditions. The fjord is very shallow, and builds short breaking chops in the breeze. It didn’t let us down this year either.

Saturday offered the first real summer’s day in Denmark, with a light breeze from 5-10 knot north-easterly twisting slightly to the right when closing in on the windward mark.

After a couple of re starts with the pin end favoured, current European Champion Jørgen Svendsen (DEN) got away well in race 1 crossing most of the fleet on port tack. Struggling to go right, most of the fleet choose the windward end of the start line and gained from the right shift, and rounded well ahead of Svendsen who had overstood the mark from the left. Jonas Börjesson (SWE) was first round and kept the lead all the way to the finish, followed by Lennart Hansson (SWE) and Mats Caap (SWE)

Börjesson said, I had my focus on the right side, although the pin end was favoured. I boxed out on the weather side on the line and immediately tacked to the right. The puffs and right twist proved to be paying off and first three Swedes leading around the top mark. I repeated the recipe on the second beat and just gained all the way to the finish line. It felt great to secure the win of the first race, being chased by 64 fellow OK sailors.

In race 2, the right side was still favoured so most of the fleet ignored the pin end bias in order to secure an early move to the right. Lauge, Stefan Myralf (DEN) 6 and Petersen soon tacked and went hard right all the way to layline…and most overstood it when the right shift came. Myralf and Lauge rounded first and second, followed by Petersen and Svendsen. Positions remain until the last downwind, when some gusts opened up passing lanes. Lauge overtook Myralf and secured the win followed by Svendsen.

Lauge says: No real rocket science to this one. The right side just looked better, and getting a perfect start really didn’t complicate things either. I never tried the Green sail in less than 20 knots, but it delivered a perfect match to my C-Tech mast. I finally broke the code of my new SOTA hull, and got some very good upwind, as well as downwind speed. My downwind speed secured me the win overtaking Stefan right at the bottom, and from there it was in the bag.

The final race of the day went to Johannsen from Petersen and Bengt Larsson (SWE).

Day 2 brought a game changer. The wind turned 180 degrees overnight, and increased to 16-20 knots. However, the land effect would still prove to turn the wind to the right when closing up to the windward mark. The major shifts needed to be played to get there, but recipe was to approach from the right in both races completed on Sunday. The day produced wins for Jørgen Lindhardtsen (DEN) and Petersen, who again showed strength when the hiking got tough.

Lindhardtsen said, In both races on Sunday I started from the pin end, and tacked on the first shift. Then I played them well all the way to the top, but lost ground on the runs and downwind. But what I lacked downwind, I gained upwind. I kept the lead to the end in race 4, but was unable to keep Bo Petersen and Christian Olsen [DEN] behind me in the final race. The wind was stronger than the forecast. Had I known about the 20 knots, I would have chosen another sail.

Lindhardtsen was fourth overall only three points from the podium.

The two jury boats on the water did a good job. The same boats were penalised under rule 42, several times during the two days securing a fair competition for all.

So Petersen wrapped up the 2015 Nordics with a race win. With the World Championship in Puck, Poland in just over five weeks, this could be a vital confidence boost in what is expected to be a very open and competitive series, with around 100 entries so far registered.

Nordic Championship 2015 - Results
1DEN 1431Bo PetersenHellerup Sejlklub13.
2DEN 1442Rene Sarabia JohannsenVallensbæk5.
3DEN 10Jens LaugeHellerup6.
4DEN 1420Jørgen LindhardtsenHellerup Sejlklub9.
5SWE 2797Mats CaapVarberg segelsällskap3.0UFD6.
6DEN 3Jørgen SvendsenHellerup Sejlklub20.
7SWE 99Hans ElkjaerVarberg Sailclub7.
8DEN 1340Christian OlsenVallensbæk Sejlklub14.
9SWE 2791Lennart HanssonGeSS2.
10DEN 22Ask AskholmSvendborg sunds sejlklub24.
11SWE 2796Bengt LarssonSSKaparan8.
12DEN 1Bo Reker AndersenHellerup21.
13DEN 11Frederik Dahl HansenHerslev Strand SejlklubDNF9.
14DEN 1453Niels-Kristian TerkildsenHillerød22.07.07.0DNC32.068.0
15SWE 2805Stefan PaviaStenungsunds ss18.
16DEN 1428Lars Jørgen AndresenHerslev Strand Sejlklub34.
17SWE 2786Håkan TörnqvistSS Kaparen17.
18DEN 1344Peter WibroeSolrød Strand10.
19SWE 2809Jonas BörjessonKSSS1.
20DEN 1397Henrik KofoedHellerup Sejlklub44.
21DEN 1303John Skjoldby PetersenHerslev Strand Sejlklub19.
22DEN 77Jesper StrandbergHerslev Strand Sejlklub12.
23SWE 2804Ingemar JansonSS Kaparen39.
24DEN 1335Mogens JohansenSolrød Strand28.
25SWE 2815Per WestlundNorrköpings SS4.
26DEN 1454Fritz BannerSejlklubben Ebeltoft Vig29.
27DEN 1375Simon Dan PetersenOnsevig Sejlklub30.030.017.0DNF19.096.0
28DEN 1377Jørgen Holm NielsenKaløvig45.
29DEN 1304Christian MidtgaardHelsingør Sejlklub36.
30DEN 1433Lars AndresenHerslev Stand Sejlklub27.
31SWE 22Lasse HanssonGetskær23.
32DEN 1354Peter HeideSvendborg Sund42.
33DEN 1347Anders BuhlHerslev Strand Sejlklub32.
34DEN 1391Nils TrolandHerslev Strand Sejlklub50.014.0DSQ31.026.0121.0
35DEN 1403Claus Møller ChristensenSkælskør Amatør Sejlklub15.
36DEN 6Stefan MyrälfHellerup Sejlklub31.03.030.0DNCDNC131.0
37DEN 1443Henrik Bøhm JensenHerslev Strand Sejlklub11.
38DEN 1395Henrik Kimmer PetersenHerslev Strand Sejlklub41.034.032.0DNF31.0138.0
39DEN 1052Per Tværsted SørensenKaløvig52.
40DEN 1275Poul VincentsHerslev Strand Sejlklub33.
41SWE 60Jonas JemtRåå Jolleklubb25.
42DEN 1448Mikael NielsenHerslev strand sejlklubDNS18.056.09.0DNC150.0
43SWE 2803Mårten BernesandSegelsällskapet Vikingarna Kalmar35.
44DEN 1396Stig FrandsenKaløvig Bådelaug46.
45DEN 1438Sam JedigHerslev Strand Sejlklub56.
46DEN 1316Jesper SommerHellerup26.
47DEN 1430René BruunHellerup Sejlklub37.
48DEN 1407Malte PedersenKongelig Dansk Yachtklub54.051.0RET16.033.0154.0
49DEN 1342Johny HansenØSF40.043.08.0DNFDNC158.0
50DEN 1392Tim NormannHerslev Strand Sejlklub38.
51DEN 885Freddy OttosenNakskov Sejlklub53.
52DEN 1437Per SørensenSejlklubben Ebeltoft Vig61.
53DEN 112Svend JakobsenHellerup49.
54SWE 2790Ulf SahleGetskärs segeksällskap16.054.040.0DNCDNC177.0
55DEN 1389Frank BerdHellerup Sejlklub43.050.026.0DNFDNC186.0
56SWE 2812Magnus GillgrenGetskärs SS59.045.024.0DNCDNC195.0
57DEN 1432Ralph EriksenHaderslev Sejl Club48.049.055.0DNFDNC219.0
58DEN 1345Mathias FiskerSolrød Strand57.0DSQDNC33.0DNC224.0
59DEN 1301Kim HagelskjærVallenbæk Sejlklub55.056.059.0DNFDNC237.0
60DEN 1471Jens MakholmHellerup Sejlklub47.058.0DNCDNCDNC239.0
61SWE 2816Claes AvellanGKSS51.0UFD54.0DNCDNC239.0
62DEN 1318Egon PetersenNakskov Sejlklub58.061.057.0DNFDNC243.0
63DEN 1341Per HansenØresund Sejlklub Frem62.055.061.0DNFDNC245.0
64DEN 1336Thomas KvistHerslev Strand Sejlklub60.060.058.0DNFDNC245.0
65DEN 1330Michael JørgensenHornbæk63.062.060.0DNFDNC252.0
66DEN 1284Jens ThomsenHerslevstrand sejlklub64.0DNCDNCDNFDNC265.0