You are here: > reports & results > australia results > nationals 08

Australia, National Championship 2008

Sunshine, Lake Macquarie, 30th December 2008 - 2nd January 2009

A tightrope finish in the 2009 Australian OK titles kept everyone guessing after the finish line to who had actually won.

Going into the last race NSW sailor Peter Horne sailing AUS 733 held a narrow lead of three points over VIC sailor Andre Blasse in AUS 729.

With a shifty southeast breeze presenting headaches and opportunities for the fleet.

Andre under pressure to beat Peter by three places responded accordingly rounding fifth at the top mark, Andre continued on his persistent drive to the front catching NSW sailor Peter Robinson Aus 736 in the last tack to win the race. This left a nervous wait as Peter Horne fought his way to the finish line, Mike Williams Aus 730 from VIC was to be the nemesis finishing third just in front of Peter Horne in fourth place.

This resulted in a tiebreak for the Championship and Giving the Title to Andre Blasse AUS 729 on a count back. A consistent Peter Horne was second and an unlucky Mike Williams third.

Mike had three race wins but an unlucky capsize on the finish line in race 2 cost him any chance of the title.

A fleet of 37 boats contested the regatta at Sunshine on the waters of Lake Macquarie. Five juniors competed with David O'Donnell Aus 695 winning the Junior title and local Wangi sailor Frank Prater Aus 679, awarded the prestigious Handicap title.

Several sailors in the fleet had impressive results; Peter Robinson had his best finish in the OK's for fifth and ex-laser sailor Joel Skelton in his first OK title took eighth. Eddie O'Donnell was ninth.

National Championship 2008 - Results
PosSailno.Boat NameSkipperTotTot-1R1
1AUS 729Knot 4 SailAndre Blasse20137414121
2AUS 733Another CrackPeter Horne231322210214
3AUS 730Time MachineMike Williams312011519113
4AUS 735Virgin on RidiculousRob Davis4731353166311
5AUS 688ShakeyPeter Robinson4834410451492
6AUS 732Dune BuggyTim Davies463463126469
7AUS 728BowfingerBruce Ashton763883892847
8AUS 646The PhantomJoel Skelton62461671412355
9AUS 734Cracked PeckerEddie O'Donnell705114683101019
10AUS 722Jesus Built My HotrodPaul Foster69515136918810
11AUS 715Baghdad NoteAndrew Baker856615127816198
12AUS 695The WifeDavid O'Donnell95751711161311720
13AUS 704Occasional KudosBob Chapman96781015181715156
14AUS 716Natural SelectionPeter Wallace104801214112471323
15AUS 691DilligafGlenn Williams99809161019131616
16AUS 713Myuna BayPeter Lynch102822017157171214
17AUS 726BundyBob Buchanan12284188192051438
18AUS 651AUS651Mark Skelton108851191323221812
19AUS 610SiroccoNigel Harvey12710513221721212013
20AUS 668Still No IdeaDon Williams15212329212318191725
21AUS 679In the BlackFrank Prater15712719232214302821
22AUS 685Once More Dear LegsJonathon O'Donnell16413325192731122228
23AUS 543Turkish DelightGary Lokum16714022262525272517
24AUS 720FlashNik Wallis16914028182127282918
25AUS 737This Bird Has FlownTom Pearce16814127252026242422
26AUS 692Dining with the DevilBill Tyler17714821272929202724
27AUS 625The FoxDavid Swales18415226203230232330
28AUS 655The PhantomMichael Walker19216024243132253026
29AUS 457HI-JE-TARNColin Lynch20116823293328293227
30AUS 694DiogenesRichard Furneaux21117338382822262138
31AUS 684SynergyCraig Lynch21617838383015312638
32AUS 644Mad CowGareth Wells21818038382638323115
33AUS 724A Fine LineGlenn Yates22518738382411383838
34AUS 667RipsnortaRussell Peterson22518730283433333829
35AUS 693Pale RiderTom O'Donnell22819331303534343331
36AUS 642BluebottleErik Thompson24120332313838363432
37AUS 660Beaver FeverJake O'Donnell25521738383635353538