You are here: > reports & results > australia results > nationals 00

Australian OK Dinghy Championships 2000

Metung Yacht Club

To Results

Defending champion and 1998 World Champion Roger Blasse narrowly retained the Australian International OK Dinghy Championships sailed at Metung on Victoria’s Gippsland Lakes. Held in early January, the regatta was held in strong to very strong wind conditions and attracted the strongest fleet for many years. The standard and competition for Australian OK Dinghies has continued to rise with Australians winning the last two World Championships.

Roger Blasse sailed consistently to win by just one point from his elder brother Andre, with Laser convert John Gibson just one point further behind in third. While Roger Blasse was only able to win one heat, his consistency with three seconds and two thirds proved just enough to win. Andre Blasse crossed the line first in four heats, only to be OCS in the first heat. John Gibson also won two heats and any of the top three could have taken the title going into the final heat.

Andre Blasse led the final heat in a 25 knot easterly from the start and was clearly faster upwind in very strong breeze, but Roger Blasse showed excellent heavy air skill to cross the line in second place. Gibson finished third which pushed him to third overall. A simple switch in the last race between Roger Blasse and Gibson would have seen Andre Blasse 1st, Gibson 2nd and Roger Blasse 3rd overall.

The closeness of the racing was not confined to the top three. Current World Champion Peter Milne finished in 4th place overall, just two points in front of Mark Jackson and Rob Davis on equal points in 5th and 6th respectively. The fleet also included former World Champion Mark Fisher finishing in 7th place and last years junior champion David Clancy in 8th.

James McAllister from Wangi on Lake Macquarie was the first junior and 11th overall. A fantastic achievement at 17 and after less than 12 months sailing OKs in a very high standard fleet. Current World Champion Peter Milne didn’t leave the prize-giving empty handed, placing as first veteran for over 40s. Bill Tyler from Mosman, NSW claimed the super veteran over 55s prize.

Three of the top six used new hulls from Jim French in Melbourne. Roger Blasse uses a hull he built and designed himself and Andre Blasse uses an imported Swedish ‘Delfs’. Peter Milne used a Kulmar hull from NSW. All the top boats used either a Goldspar or Needlespar (UK) mast and all use sails from Gale and Rimington Sails, Melbourne.

Mark Jackson
National Secretary


1AUS678R BLASSE132224331
2AUS698A BLASSE1411421533 O
3AUS710J GIBSON153513218
4AUS694P MILNE2710375426
5AUS708M JACKSON2984618162
6AUS706R DAVIS2946565183
7AUS670M FISHER377987645
8AUS673D CLANCY495791113154
9AUS676T DAVIES529143811197
10AUS666P JACKSON642081197933 O
11AUS696J MCALLISTER651312121812610
12AUS704R CHAPMAN7116151312101011
13AUS693R BROWN7411161015141212
14AUS711G YATES861520152116119
15AUS667J MCKENZIE9261033 C 1492033 O
16AUS709P RICHARDS95171733 C2021713
17AUS648B TYLER9614261716201415
18AUS628B ASHTON971825141719821
19AUS703P BURTON98121133 C 10151733 O
20AUS655D COLEMAN10322182019171316
21AUS689N GRAY11933 F 1333 C13182319
22AUS690S WILSON12224281624222214
23AUS681J CORBY12819242123233018
24AUS679J GRAHAM13021231922262520
25AUS444D SMITH13533 F 21182533 F2117
26AUS605K KNOTT14123192226272433 C
27AUS675K KNOTT14826222427242725
28AUS637P BLUNT15225272333 F252824
29AUS584L MCALLISTER17733 F 2933 C 33 F283123
30AUS67R BLACKMAN18033 F 33 C 33 C 33 F 33 S2622
31AUS457D GILBERT18333 F 33 F 33 C 33 F292926
32AUS621C MCMILLAN19533 F 3033 C 33 F 33 F 33 F 33 S