You are here: > reports & results > belgium results > national championships 08

Belgian Open Championships 2008

Koninklijke Liberty Yacht Club, Lake Galgenweel, Antwerp, September 13th - 14th

Photos courtesy of the Koninklijke Liberty Yacht Club at pixagogo

Report by Terry Curtis

26 OK’s from 5 nations attended the Belgian National Championships on Lake Galgenweel in Antwerp over the weekend 13-14th Sept. Due to major disruptions on the channel crossings due to the tunnel fire, only 2 British entries made the trip from the UK.

After a short delay Saturdays racing got underway in a very shifty, patchy North Westerly blowing across the lake. As the day progressed the wind veered to the east & settled a little. Terry Curtis from the UK finished the day with 3,1,3 to hold a narrow lead from Belgian Yannick Laumans with 4,4,1 & Jorg Rademacher of Germany with 1,5,4 in third place.

True to tradition, the host club put on a fantastic BBQ with an appropriate amount of free beer, to ensure a sound nights sleep. Sunday dawned with a very welcome force four from the North East & bright sunshine which stayed throughout the day. Curtis made the most of the conditions winning all three races to take the championship with a race to spare. Germanys Ralf Mackmann took 3 second places losing race 5 by only half a length. Laumans couldn’t get to grips with the conditions & slipped to 5th place overall with Rademacher doing enough to keep 3rd overall.

Belgian Open Championships 2008 - Results
1Terry CurtisGBR21187pts
2Ralf MackmannGER71114pts
3Jörg RademacherGER73015pts
4Christian HeinzGER60519pts
5Yannick LaumansBEL20521pts
6Maurice SlapBEL20326pts
7Paul VerrijdtBEL21429pts
8Ronny PoelmanBEL22035pts
9Heinz RidderGER65147pts
10Rod AndrewBEL152pts
11Stephan KlausGER61561pts
12Thomas NevelingGER66462pts
13Joost RommelaereBEL5662pts
14Koen HopsyBEL068pts
15Maxime MancaFRA133672pts
16Torsten AlbrechtGER59677pts
17Jan BechmannGER56779pts
18Jan TaelmanBEL482pts
19Uli BorchenGER58786pts
20Susanne MackmannGER72399pts
21Arne GoodNED657102pts
22Alexandre RosierBEL108pts
23Dominique IstasseBEL125108pts
24Denis GillesBEL5109pts
25James AndrewGBR2090113pts
26Thierry DemblonBEL44135pts